Key Groups

In this article:

What are Key Groups?

You may need to share a group of different keys with some people and a different group of keys with others. The Groups feature allows you to create a subset of keys in your account and share that subset as if it was one key. By default, all of the keys you create are in the main group called All Keys. This group allows you to easily share all your keys with users you choose. 

 

Set Up a Key Group

  1. Log into www.keycafe.com
  2. Select Groups from the menu options
  3. Select the + Add button in the upper left and then select “Group” from the drop down
  4. Name the group and provide a description, then make sure you have selected the Key Group option and select “add group”

Screen_Shot_2020-06-23_at_5.38.49_PM.png

 

Add Keys to a Group

  1. Log into www.keycafe.com.
  2. Select Groups from the menu options.
  3. Select the name of the group you wish to add keys to.
  4. Select Keys.
  5. Search for keys you wish to add to this group by name.
  6. From the search drop down list, select the name of the keys you wish to add.

Screen_Shot_2020-06-23_at_5.37.51_PM.png

 

Add Users to a Key Group

Note

At this time you can only add Full Users from the group page. To give SmartBox Users permission to a key group, you can do so through the User page.
  1. Log into www.keycafe.com.
  2. Select Groups from the menu options.
  3. Select the name of the group you wish to add a user to.
  4. Select Add User.
  5. Enter the email address of the user you wish to share this group of keys with.
  6. Select the Permission Role for that user:
    1. Exchange Only: The user will be able to pickup and drop off the key using their access code or the Keycafe app and see a limited view of recent history and information about the key. This permission level is good for end user staff who regularly pickup and drop off the key.
    2. View Only: The user will be able to see and find all information about the key, its history, user accesses, and bookings related to the key. They will not be able to pickup the key or view its key code. This permission level is good for remote support personnel.
    3. Administrator: The user will have all of the abilities under Exchange Only and View Only as well as be able to create and manage bookings, edit the key's information, and view and manage its key code. This permission level is good for personnel who you want to have full oversight of the key.

Screen_Shot_2020-06-23_at_5.35.49_PM.png

 

Change Users' Permissions

  1. Log into www.keycafe.com.
  2. Select Groups from the menu options.
  3. Select the name of the group you wish to edit a user's permission for.
  4. Select Users.
  5. Beside the name of the user select the pencil icon and change the permissions level - (see Permission Roles)

Screen_Shot_2020-06-23_at_5.36.45_PM.png

 

Remove a User from a Key Group

  1. Log into www.keycafe.com.
  2. Select Groups from the menu options.
  3. Select the name of the group you wish to edit a user's permission for.
  4. Select Users.
  5. Beside the name of the user select the trash icon. Any user removed from the group will no longer be able to access any keys in the group. 

Screen_Shot_2020-06-23_at_5.37.08_PM.png

 

Remove Keys from a Key Group

  1. Log into www.keycafe.com.
  2. Select Groups from the menu options.
  3. Select the name of the group you wish to remove a key from.
  4. Select Keys.
  5. Beside the name of the key, select the trash icon. Once removed, no users in this group will be able to access this key, but the key itself is not removed from the account.

Screen_Shot_2020-06-23_at_5.38.18_PM.png

 

Change the Name of a Key Group

  1. Log into www.keycafe.com.
  2. Select Groups from the menu options.
  3. Select the name of the group you wish to remove a key from.
  4. Select About Group.
  5. Select Edit. Change the name and select Save.

Screen_Shot_2020-06-23_at_5.35.08_PM.png

 

Delete a Key Group

  1. Log into www.keycafe.com.
  2. Select Groups from the menu options.
  3. Select the name of the group you wish to remove a key from.
  4. Select About Group.
  5. Select Edit.
  6. Select Remove Group. This will permanently delete the group and all the group's users' access to keys in the group, but will not delete the user accounts or any of the keys.

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful